

NOTICE OF RACE/Sailing Instructions

BALLARD CUP Series 1 2024

4/15, 4/22, 4/29, 5/6, 5/13, 5/20

Updated on 4/12/24

Please note: the "B" mark will be replaced with a temporary mark if the permanent "B" mark is not on station.

- 1. **Rules**: This race is governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing except as modified by the STYC General Sailing Instructions (GSI), these Sailing Instructions, and the USCG VTS Navigation Rules.
- 2. Eligibility and Entry Deadline: This race is open to STYC members with PHRF-NW ratings who wish to race in handicapped classes. Members without a PHRF rating are eligible to race in the Slooper class. Non STYC members with a valid PHRF-NW rating are eligible to enter provided the skipper is a member of a PIYA or US Sailing accepted club. Entries must be received on the STYC website (www.styc.org), no later than 2400, on the Wednesday before the race. See the GSI for the late entry policy. If you enter the series after the first race, you will be scored DNC for the races that you missed. This series is free to STYC Voting members. STYC Associate members pay an entry fee of \$20 per series, and all others pay \$35 per series. Valid PHRF-NW certificates must be received by the regular registration deadline, or at the time of registration for late entries.
- 3. **Divisions:** The race will be divided into the following three divisions:
 - a. PHRF Flying Sails
 - **b.** PHRF Non-Flying Sails
 - c. Slooper

See the STYC GSI for details on each division. The Slooper division is not eligible for Overall Awards. Class breaks will be posted on the STYC website (www.styc.org) by 2000 the Sunday before the first race.

- 4. Starting Times: The 1st Class start is scheduled for 1815. This means the first warning will be 1810.
- Race Distance and Course: The course will be indicated by any combination N B E M R U W 2 mark letters on the race committee boat or the course may be announced on VHF 72. If no race committee boat is on station, the course will be announced on VHF 72. See the GSI for a description of the letters and distance between marks.
- 6. Time Limit: The time limit will be 2030 for all classes. Boats finishing after the time limit will be scored DNF.
- 7. **Communication:** The race committee will utilize VHF channel 72 for on water communications. A failure by the race committee to issue a communication, the failure of a competitor to hear the communication, or any other issues regarding the communication shall not constitute grounds for redress. This changes RRS 62.1(a).
- 9. **Skippers' Meeting**: There are no Skippers' Meetings for this series. Skippers are responsible to check for any changes posted on the STYC website.
- 10. **Scoring**: For each race, PHRF divisions will be scored using PHRF Time-on-Time scoring. The Time Correction Factor will be calculated using 650 / (520 + PHRF Rating). Slooper division will be scored using elapsed time, without a Time Correction Factor. There will be one throwout if five or more races are sailed.

- 11. Race Committee Boat Duty: A sailboat which serves as Race Committee Boat or whose crewmembers (some or all) serve as Race Committee volunteers and does not compete for that single race of the series will be awarded a score equal to the average finish for that sailboat in all the other races of the series. Volunteering is strongly encouraged and will not harm your series score! We are happy to advise you and help set you up for success as CB. Please reach out to volunteer@styc.org, if you are interested in volunteering as the Race Committee boat.
- 12. Awards: Race results and awards will be presented as soon as possible after each race at the Sloop Tavern, pending protests. All STYC events will be held in alignment with CDC guidelines and local guidelines. If guidelines change and STYC decides to cancel in-person awards, skippers will be notified via email.
 - Ballard cup stickers will be presented after each race.
 - 1st Place (Gold sticker)
 - 2nd Place (Silver sticker)
 - 3rd Place (Bronze sticker)
 - Trophies for the series will be presented on the night of the last race of each series.